What Really Happened To The 360’s Marvel Comic MMO?

8 07 2008

Brian Michael Benids…you either love him or hate him.  He is one of the top minds at Marvel currently…and he was also one of the executive producers of the ill-fated Marvel MMO.  He recently spoke with ComicMix and gave a little insight on what happened to the Marvel MMO.

CMix: It’s no secret that you’re an avid gamer. Is there any comic character or title that you’d still like to see in a videogame that hasn’t popped up yet?

BB: Well, you’re talking to one of the executive producers of the ill-fated Marvel MMO that went away. I have my laptop here, and on it I have the “X-Mansion” level fully completed that only I and five other people have access to play. It’s gorgeous and fantastic and no one will ever see it. So I feel bad, because I think that MMO was a phenomenal idea that was extremely well executed and it went away because some guy at Microsoft who we’ll never know pulled the plug on it before it even got underway.

But adding to that, I think that they should take each of these Marvel events and turn them into a videogame franchise. “Civil War,” which will be part of the next Ultimate Alliance, “House of M,” “Secret Wars”…

CMix: “Secret Invasion?”

BB: “Secret Invasion.” Absolutely.

I think the idea of them doing a video game series based on comic events would be awesome.  MUA: Secret Wars, then MUA: House of M, then MUA: Civil War, etc etc.  So there you have it a “faceless person at Microsoft”.  Do with it as you will….faceless bastard!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2008
reviewthosegames

I’m not a big MMO player, or a player of Marvel games in general. It doesn’t affect me, so I’m alright, :).

9 07 2008
knight0fkh0nshu

Me, I’m not a big MMO player either…but Marvel is one of my favorite things in the whole world and I’m deeply saddend by this. The only reason they canceled it is because of WoW…screw WoW. They are retarted if they think this game wouldn’t have gained a following, because they’re are plenty of comic book fans out there that were anticipating this game.

Leave a Reply

