Know Your Games: Too Human

30 07 2008

I want to take you back in time to give you a little history on Too Human and those Silicon Knights.

Too Human has been in developement for a long, long time.  It was originaly planned as 4 disc Playstation game.  Yes, that’s the original Playstation, not the PS2.  It was briefly shown at E3 1999, but then: enter Nintendo.  Nintendo entered a partnership with Silicon Knights to bring Too Human to the Nintendo Gamecube.  Well, obviously that never happened.  Fast forward a couple of years and you finally get to see a resurfacing of Too Human in the EGM magazine stating that Silicon Knights will bring a 3 part Too Human trilogy to the Xbox 360.  Fast forward a couple more years….now we are pratically about to play the entire game.  1999-2008….that’s a hell of a developmental cycle.  It’s a wonder that the game has lasted this long to even make it to retail, but nevertheless, it’s almost here.

It was originally being made with Epic’s Unreal 3 Engine, but due to “issues” that was terminated.  Silicon Knights is now using their own internal engine.  Personally, I don’t think it looks too bad at all.

So, now you know the history of the Too Human game.

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 07 2008
Jordan Snyder

That’s so crazy when you think about it. I can’t imagine the game we’ve seen now being out on the PS1. I need to download the demo from the XBLM so I can check it out. Something about Dennis Dyack makes me want to buy the game. He seems like a great guy.

31 07 2008
knight0fkh0nshu

Quite a few people didn’t like it. Me personally, I loved it. I love how you don’t have to button mash like you would in a typical hack-n-slash. You control the fighting by moving the analog stick in different directions. I think it’s brilliant. A hack-n-slash game without the button mashing…it’s awesome!

31 07 2008
Jordan Snyder

Yeah, I like the premise. The story seems kind of corny, but who plays hack-n-slashes for the story anyways?

1 08 2008
knight0fkh0nshu

I like the story, but I’m all about mythology and stuff like that as well. As I have said before…I love RPGs, they’re my favorite and this action-rpg looks like it’s going to be amazing.

Leave a Reply

